Why do you still call me?

Written by Anne Muturi

Why do you still call me?
Come sit on my lap, you say
I want to be near you, you say
Can I hug you? You ask
Can we talk? You ask

Why do you still call me?
When you couldn’t wait to leave before
When there were others that made you breathless
When you never shared your soul with me
When you said I smelled?

Why do you still call me when my life has moved on?
Moved on from hearing you sigh at another’s image
Moved on from the disappointment in your face when we struggled in bed.
Moved on from thinking that we could work it out
Moved on from you!

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

Tell me what you think...

