Interview with Maurice Kokonya,Creative Director

Written by Faith Oneya
1. Please tell us a little about yourself and how long you
have been directing etc .Was there someone who inspired you to get into
theatre? If so, who?

I’m Maurice Kokonya I’m a creative writer and graphic designer, I write screen and stage plays. I’ve been directing plays for around 10 years. My literature teacher in high school really encouraged me and made me enjoy writing.
2. · Choose a play/ movie title for the story of your life?

RYTHMS OF A RAINBOW

3. · When you looked in the mirror first thing this morning,
what was the first thing you thought?

I got to make my play DEATH AND THE ESTATE successful
4. · Why did you pick this show? Can you tell us a little bit
about it?

It’s a play I wrote about 9 years ago. It tells the story of greed and dishonesty through the eyes of different people from different social and economic classes. The story is about a family that fights for inheritance but they realise there is something more valuable, a portion that makes one immortal. Alliances are soon formed among people with vested interest to get this portion.
5. · Who do you think will like this show? Anything else you
would like to add?

I think this plays suits everyone because anyone can relate to it regardless of their social or economic background. I would like everyone to come see it, it’s really entertaining. It runs at the Kenya National Theatre from 9th 10th and 11th December. Tickets go for 500/= shilling. For any enquiries call Maurice 0724347509
6. · What’s next for you or the theatre?

I will be doing my next play called THE RIGHT CHICKEN in February next year.

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

1 thought on “Interview with Maurice Kokonya,Creative Director”

  1. I like your work Madam Kokanya.You inspire me very much and i look up tn work with you.THANK YOU.

Tell me what you think...

