Poem: There’s a Tick Up My Crotch

Written by Oluoch Madiang’

(Ode to the plunderer from our tribe whom I won’t tame as long as he out-plunder’s your tribe’s plunderer)

There’s a tick up my crotch (a wild tick you’d love to tame)
A fat round tick
A fat round tick hangs down my crotch
A tick ticking away my life juices
But destroy my ticky mate I won’t
Because, like me, the tick too speaks atiriri;


There’s a tick up my crotch (a wild tick you’d love to tame)
An engorged tick
An engorged tick weighs down my thing
Sucking out all my vitality
But pluck the tick off I won’t
Because, like me, the tick too sings mulembe;

There’s a tick up my crotch (a wild tick you’d love to tame)
A clawy, stubborn tick
A clawy stubborn tick lives deep in my crotchy
Maiming my unmentionable
But scratch the tick away I won’t
Coz like me, the ticky too hails omera;

There’s a tick up my crotch (a wild tick you’d love to tame)
An angry tick
An angry tick clings up my Y’know-what
Clawing my pleasure-tube
Yet, untick my crotch I won’t
Because like me, the tick too dances tugul;

Unwild my tick I won’t, until we wipe you out!
Our tribal tick versus your ethnic tick…
Our tick plus I crushing your tick plus you!
My crotch’s tick’s bites massage, your sucky tick’s bites deform.
Down with you and your robber ticky, up with me and my hero plunderer!

– W.N.G. Oluoch Madiang’.

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

1 thought on “Poem: There’s a Tick Up My Crotch”

  1. Before I read “There’s a Tick Up My Crotch”, I thought it was going to be a humorous poem. Then I read it. Whoa! I was staggered by it’s profundity. It was a profound microcosm. In a strange way, it brought John Donne’s “The Flea” (I believe that’s what it is called) to mind. You are in good company!

Tell me what you think...

