Poem: Rotting in My Clothes

Written By Eric Otieno(Rixwriter)

Blog: http://thedeepwords.wordpress.com/

Love slips away without caution,

Even when am naked

This nature of distortion

A thousand times I dreaded,

Everything around me has paled

Feel like a stranger on sale,

Clothes I bought to fit my ego,

Make my fly down like an eagle,

Torn rags dragging me into frowns,

My tears make me look like a clown.

 

The suits do not fit,,

My face is salty from tears and sweat

I stand here faithless

After I was hung as bait.

Drunk as wine down broken spines,

Comrades turned spikes,

Out of my clothes I run adrift,

To shift my pain to the sun.

 

This be the tide that breaks my pride,

I’d rather face the world naked,

With nothing to hide,

Than die forsaken.

 

Maybe I will find clothes worthy of me,

Spotted but unspoken,

To render my heart spotless

From clothing rotten,

Am running out of time

Rotting in my clothes

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

Tell me what you think...

