Meet the Alive and a Little Wild Poet: Anne Muturi

Written by Faith Oneya

Anne blogs at http://anniemaaalw.blogspot.com/.

LC: Tell us about yourself

AM: In primary school I was Small Anne. I Graduated in Mathematics and Chemistry back in the day, worked in computers for a while, left that, wrote some poetry, went for some workshops, planted trees, worked for a grant maker, campaigned for the new constitution then I left to pursue a Masters in activism and social change. I am currently looking for what next and some income. I like learning and I am a bit of an Anglophile.  I am queer.  I asked my boyfriend what words he would use to describe me and he gave me self dependent, articulate, planning skills, caring and kind and one more thing….very good in bed.

LC:If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?

AM:God.

 

LC: What book(s) are you currently reading?

AM: On my bedside is The Southern Kikuyu Before 1903 by L S B Leaky volume 1, The Story of Philosophy by Bryan Magee and The God Chasers by Tommy Tenny.

LC: Have you ever fallen in love with a fictional character from a book? Tell us about it. 

AM: The first book that struck me was Fortunes by Vera Cowie.  I think it was a combination of the story and characters that struck me.  The book was my mothers. The book got lost. I bought another which also got lost but I had copied part of it onto a note book before it disappeared. I may still buy it again if I came across it.  Kate, one of the characters in the book was besotted with Jane Eyre and that made me buy Jane Eyre and read it. After Jane Eyre I went on to other English Classics like Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.  Last year I took a steam train ride to Haworth and visited the Bronte parsonage museum and saw the desk and felt the room that Charlotte Bronte may have written Jane Eyre on.  The room was inviting and warm.

LC: What is one book you haven’t read but want to read before you die?

AM: I am not that knowledgeable about books.  I just hope I came across books that grove with me and I can never tell before I read them.

LC: What kind of poet are you?

AM: I am currently a non-writing one.

LC: Do you sit and think through every word of every stanza or do you just write freely and allowing the words to flow?

AM: Some sentences flow and others I have to search for.

LC: When did you first start writing and were there any incidents in your life that made you want to write?

AM: The first thing I wrote was a short skit mixing scenes in Romeo and Juliet with scenes in The Concubine and a friend’s situation.  It was for a friend’s birthday that was going gaga over some guy in our brother school in high school.  I enjoyed doing that.  I never really wrote again until about sixteen or so years later when I started the artists’ way as a way to cope with a relationship breakup and later found myself recording moments in poem.  I went for some workshops and wrote a short story.  I stopped writing a year after that.

LC: Who is your favorite writer/poet and for what reason are they your favorite writer?

AM: Okot p’Bitek.  I like his flow. His energy. I also like his philosophy.

LC: Do you have a favorite poem among those you have written? If so, which one. Please write down a few lines from it. 

AM: I am not sure I have a favorite but what is on my mind now is flash finish.  It’s very short so I can give you all of it.

 

Picture perfect photo

Blissful beautiful babes

Subtle seductive salon

Flick flash finish

 

LC: Have you been published before? Any plans to do so?

AM: No I haven’t published before.  I often feel I would like to see my poems in a bound book but there are no plans as yet to publish them.

LC: If you could choose one of your personality traits to pass on to your children, what would it be?

AM: Honesty

LC: What question have you always wanted to be asked as a poet and how would you answer it?

AM: What surprised you about writing?  I was surprised that often creativity can be born in moments of limits or pressure that didn’t seem to have any feeling of inspiration initially.  For example, I came out with a short story I really liked under a time deadline and thinking I am just a poet. Some of my favorite poems were born from picking random words from a dictionary and putting together a poem, and some poems were from a promise to write a poem a day no matter what.  Ben Okri at last year’s Hay Festival said something to the effect that creativity needs limits or constraints; an artist needs the boundaries of his canvas.

 

 

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

One thought on “Meet the Alive and a Little Wild Poet: Anne Muturi”

Tell me what you think...

