Meet the Poet: Margaret Muthee

Written by Faith Oneya

 

Poet Margaret Muthee

LC: What did they call you as a child?

MM: They called me Kare as a child…Some actually still do call me that. It’s the short name for Wangari.

 LC: Tell us more about yourself

MM: I am an extrovert/introvert…sometimes noisy, other times; I keep to myself and write poetry.

I am a lefty (left handed)…meaning I use what side of my brain?

 

 LC: What are you currently doing?

MM: I am currently a student at Daystar University, studying Communications. I am a journalist, working with Shine FM, (Daystar student radio) as a news anchor and Involvement (Daystar’s Newspaper) as Features editor. I also train with Internews, an international organization that trains journalists.

 LC: What are your passions? Hobbies?

MM: I love poetry, acting, reading and writing.

   LC: If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?

MM: I feel rejuvenated every time I attend a poetry event and people just share their feelings, letting it out through words…Am I trying to say I’d live on words? Let me think about that!

 LC: What book(s) are you currently reading?

MM: I am currently reading ‘What is the what’ a novel by David Eggers. It is an epic novel based on the life of Valentino Achak Deng, who at a tender age of 7 was forced to leave his village in Sudan and together with other boys trekked long distances crossing the deserts of three countries pursued by militias, bombers and wild animals, in order to find freedom, at a time of war.

 LC: What is one book you haven’t read but want to read before you die? · 

MM:Unbowed’ by Wangari Maathai. I haven’t read the book yet but hope to read it soon.

 LC: Do you sit and think through every word of every stanza or do you just write freely and allowing the words to flow?

MM: To be sincere, I just write freely. I don’t force my writing, it just flows. I think about the lines later when am typing and editing.

 LC: Where can we watch you perform?

MM: I am still a new kid on the block when it comes to performance in Nairobi. I just started at Slam Afrika with the Daystar family. I hope to do it more often there and at Kwani open Mic. And of course you can always find me at Amka writers’ forum at Goethe Institute and my home DaystarJ

 LC: When did you first start writing and were there any incidents in your life that made you want to write? ·

MM: I started writing in High school, but then I wrote more after high school, during the period of transition to University. I stayed home for quite a long period of time unsure about what course my life would take next. During this time I rediscovered myself as a writer.

 LC: Who is your favourite writer/poet and for what reason are they your favourite writer?

MM: Maya Angelou is my favourite poet.  I think her poems are inspirational and especially those that are about what she has been through. My favourite is ‘Still I rise.’ You should check it out!

 LC: Do you have a favorite poem among those you have written? If so, which one. Please write down a few lines from it.

MM: My favourite poem is titled, ‘You are a Masterpiece’

A few lines are:

Know you are

An eagle that so high can fly

So spread your wings

New life begins, when you do realize you are a prince, princess…

 LC: You have some poems published in the Fresh Paint Anthology first edition, please tell us about them?

MM: The poems published in the Fresh Paint anthology are: ‘She rocks!’  Fatherly love?’ and ‘Phobia’

She rocks was inspired by my mother and all other women who have contributed so much in my life. It is basically celebrates women.

‘Fatherly love?’

This poem I wrote at a time when there were so many cases of rape in the media. It admonishes fatherly figures who instead of acting as protectors actually rape and abuse, while ‘Phobia’ narrates different fears people have in life. Fresh paint is an interesting read!

 LC: If you could choose one of your personality traits to pass on to your children, what would it be? · 

MM: Perseverance. I have been through so much and yet I did not give up during those worst moments. This is the one character that I would pass on to my children. Looking back, I do not regret having persevered.

  LC: What question have you always wanted to be asked as a poet and how would you answer it?

MM: Reason why I write: I write to free myself!

 

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

12 thoughts on “Meet the Poet: Margaret Muthee”

  1. And that’s Margaret for me. A very thoughtful person and very insightful at life. There are few people you will find out there with a passion like hers. Funny thing is, you won’t notice it until you know her.

  2. Congratz siz, thats a good job, am happy for you that you have realised the gold in you and i urge you not to take chances and explore it to the fullest…u have a great future and be assured thats God will always guide you… keep up the fight andall da best.

  3. Nice read fellow poet. I Miss our poetry exchanges, challenges and all. We should do it again. Otherwise, I am proud of the much you’ve accomplished. Keep it up, your future can only be green- no sheds in between.

    1. Lenny thank you…I also miss the poetry exchanges…We should get back at it….Did you keep the ones we did? We should publish that or something?

Tell me what you think...

