Poem:Crimson Love; Reason To Breathe Again

Written by Eric Otieno and Rehema Pete

REHEMA:
Are you there?
I saw you walk in silent beauty like the night
Saw your silhouette figure drift past me in my fright
Gracefully, a shadow tight
Like an angel without wings
My heart yearned for reasons I never knew
Just once
My fingers ached for nothing but to touch you
My eyes burnt with commanding desire
To set sight on you for a moment longer and higher
Wait…
Should I reach out and call your name
A name without words but desires to describe
To call out your name with nothing but silence
Are you really there?

 

RIX:
Love
My heart was a whole hollow hole
Thriving in crusts of broken tolls
A broken soul
With all sorts of broken soles
Tall mourns and long morns
Am I here, I hear you ask
Yes…
Your breath I felt when I passed
Was it your charm that washed me to dust
Was it the panache of your scent that got me masked
Was it your seductive love parlance that shred me to husks
Am here, am here
Call my name, Love, call my name
For your dazzling delight am all ears
You are the angel rattling my eyes to tears

REHEMA:
I knew you were there
You stand still and turn to me with a smile
I must be dreaming, I must be hallucinating
The world stops still and…
All else erased
Two hearts beating in rhythm so divine,
Passion chased
When time stood still and we were entwined in a trance
My heart raced
The day wasn’t a full hours twenty-four for once
Oh! How I was sure to brace this moment embraced
Stood mesmerized reaching out in a silent stance
And the fear I faced
Afraid that you were just a figment of my imagination
An enchantment of my heart’s indignation

RIX:
I can hear the sound of the rising sun
It’s singing in my heart
I can see the light in your eyes
Gracefully twinkling like twisted stars
Sprinkling love like a watered flower in the garden of Mars
Your heartbeat the gain
That washes away my pain
No, Love, I am not a dream
I am not the thought that loneliness brings
I am you
The extra minutes of my day
My passion, my fixed date
If love was a forest
I am the tree that fell
Inside you forever to dwell
So you and I can have eternal drinks in this well

REHEMA:
You reach out to me
Am no longer sure
Should I hug you or just greet you
Should I kiss you
Or tell you that I’ve missed you though we’ve never met
Tell you that our destiny was written long ago in the stars
That the frogs I’ve kissed were to draw you closer to me
That we are the exception to cupid’s arrow that missed
To live each day towards a moment like this
And let the cravings in the corner of my mind
Come to life and dance off my lips

RIX:
What a craving of bliss
Sure I have met you in my dreams
By the crossroads we kissed
I yearn to drink
From the fountains of your lips
Hold on to destiny
To the core that we both please
This moment is my loud cherished peace
Without a doubt you are God’s own masterpiece
A rare catchment in these lust days
How hard I pray
That it would just last
I tell you I want you close to me
My anatomy can no longer hold on to its patience wits
We are the exception to cupid’s arrow that missed
It’s written all over your frame in deep hot prints
Tell me tell me, Love, can you feel me there?

REHEMA:
I can feel you there
You hold my hand and stare
Deep
Into my eyes with crimson flair
You say not a word
For yours tell it all
The windows to your soul
Reach out to me
Embracing the possibilities of what might be
It is getting dark in the crimson sun
When words fade into whispers
And all that’s left is naked feelings
Naked emotions
Naked desires
Naked dreams
For our love shall be nourishment to my soul
My beacon in the dusk
My will to survive
My reason to breath again

RIX:
Your smile is my crimson sun
A crimson flame that will forever burn
That hills and mountains will scratch my back
But between pain and love, you’ll still be the one
So worry not your soul, sweet cherub
Will to die in the cement that am forever your man
Down the depths of your heart
Time to hide from the world for passion’s turn
In our naked emotions
Naked desires
Naked dreams
For our love shall be nourishment to my soul
My secret light in the dusk
My will to stay alive
My reason to breathe again

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

3 thoughts on “Poem:Crimson Love; Reason To Breathe Again”

Tell me what you think...

