A thought-provoking read.I hope you will all enjoy.

Initiation Songs

We were late this morning.  My daughter did not want to go to school.  Can’t say I blame her.  We all need a day off now and again from our routines, what’s tricky is making the judgement call about whether its time to push through the blocks, or drop the habitual.

I dropped the habitual.  In a way.  I didn’t scream or shout, or lose my rag.  I used gentle persuasion mixed with empathy, some firmness and a relaxing of the normal rules of getting ready in the morning on a school day.  We can always return to the rules, they’re not going anywhere.  Returning is part of what makes things work and move sometimes, as Julie Tallard reminded me in her ‘Musings for Writers and Poets’ newsletter this week.  It is a dogmatic clinging to the rules that can kill off their relevance.  We have rules for the sake…

View original post 432 more words

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

1 thought on “”

Tell me what you think...

