Poem: Again

Written by Victorine Ndinda 

I have been thinking, asking myself

If I had a chance, just one more chance

To have you back in my life, again

What would I do differently?

How differently would I love you?

Source: http://www.modernlifeblogs.com/2011/08/5-steps-how-to-learn-to-love-again/

I would wake you up every morning

With a kiss.

Make you breakfast, your favourite;

 2 slices of bread, 2 pieces of nduma,

2 sugars to go with your hot cup of white tea

I would cook you your favourite dish;

Ugali, sukuma and fish

Every evening.

I would appreciate your hard work,

Trying to make me happy,

To keep up with the Kamau’s

Our rich neighbours

See love, I never knew that the Kamau’s

Were heirs to a great family fortune

And so we could never compete with them

Every day, I see couples at our favourite spot

Downtown, at the Coffee House

Laughing, touching and sharing secret smiles

Like we used to

I don’t blame the accident, or God

We’d taken a break,

To ‘think our relationship through’

‘See if we are right for each other’

It was my suggestion of course.

13 days ago.

See love, that day you had that accident on Thika road?

On your way to meet me?

That was the day I was to tell you

That those 13 days had been unbearable

Without you.

Because for the first time,

In the two years we were together

I realised that I can’t live without you.

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

5 thoughts on “Poem: Again”

  1. The poem has certainly succeeded in using heightened language and evoking emotions…sadness, regret and so on.

    I am not a poet,but I enjoy reading poetry.I enjoy word play, I enjoy how poets are able to create music using words. The first stanza is quite repetitive, and this could be a style the poet chose to emphasize on the emotional anguish…but I still feel the stanza could have been better edited to retain the meaning but still enhance rhythm.

    I enjoyed how the story builds up within the poem, and the conclusion at the end. Which brings me to the question of free verse. These are things I only read about but here I assume the poet chose to write in this style. I do not know to what extent free verse is actually ‘free’.so here is a quote I found from T.S Elliot that could summarize this : T. S. Eliot wrote, “No verse is free for the man who wants to do a good job.”

    Overall,an enjoyable read. A highly relevant subject.Kudos.

Tell me what you think...

