In my youth……

By Gloria Mwaniga.

 

In my youth, had I  known

That not all dreams can come true,

Then I would have dreamt more carefully,

And not let the visions of my heart go wild and untamed.

 

In my youth, had I known,

That wishes might come true,

Then I could have wished more carefully,

Just in case my wish was granted.

 

In my youth, had I known,

That loved ones wouldn’t be here forever,

Then, I would have loved them better,

And treated them with care

Just in case they won’t be here tomorrow.

 

In my youth, had I known,

That the choice of who I would be,

Is determined by what I choose to do everyday,

And not, by a master called fate

Then I would not have spent hours doing things I didn’t like.

 

In my youth,

Had I known, that smiling increases one’s life,

Then, I would have laughed more

And  lived longer.

But now,

I know that an arrow thrown doesn’t come back to you,

And a word uttered cannot be taken back,

I now know that to love in a non-insurable risk,

And that regret,

like hate,

is only for fools.

Author: Gloria Mwaniga Minage

Phenomenal woman. that's me

4 thoughts on “In my youth……”

Tell me what you think...

