Meet the Nocturnal Daydreamer: Ochieng’ Adholla

Written by Faith Oneya

Ochieng Adholla is a young conscious poet, author of: Panther’s Diary (Google that, he says), Pan Africanist logistician in the making (in few years you will understand, he says) and a part time blogger check http://afrolyricists.blogspot.com/His . His favorite quotations are …Don’t throw away the dirty water until you have the clean one/It’s easy to be wise after the event/It’s ill waiting for dead men’s shoes/Apart from new notes that have the fragrance of pride and hope money does not smell nor taste. Read on to find more about Ochieng’!

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=226076cfaa&view=att&th=138be775476d3e89&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=f_h52hlg030&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_3pLru-jI5Auc2RJYNItYD&sadet=1343300236462&sads=ZVhHw_Ncp5nCo1TC1rdLSCgwoZ0&sadssc=1
Ochieng’ Adholla

LC: What did they call you as a child?
OA: I had many nicknames but most of my friends used to call me Trickpa or Ochibo.

 
LC: Tell us more about yourself…
OA: I am a lyricist with a cause, a nocturnal daydreamer, I grew up between France and Kenya and I am open minded and outgoing.
I am currently finishing a degree in Purchase and Business Logistics, promoting my book, looking for reviewers and writing ‘Panther’s Diary’: Unspoken words which is the continuation of my first book.

 
LC: What are your passions? Hobbies?
OA: I like reading, writing, watching documentaries and playing badminton when I can.

 
LC: If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?
OA: Peace and freedom: the only things we can’t get alive.

 
LC: What book(s) are you currently reading?
OA: I am reading Living Memories, the Untold Stories of Kenya by Al Kags; which is an oral history of Kenya, from the end of colonialism until the 1990s. In this book, Kags has interviewed both ordinary people and important players, and presents his interviews with minimal editing. It is an excellent book, I recommend it.

 
LC: Have you ever fallen in love with a fictional character from a book? Tell us about it.
OA: Yes, I felt in love with Jean Valjean from Les Miserables of Victor Hugo; his ability to face and overcome any situation really impressed me. The evolution in his struggle to redeem himself morally to find acceptance in a society that rejects him as a former criminal is amazing and I believe many people can identify themselves to his character. Valjean’s redemption through his many trials happened only because of his great humility and compassion and it is an important lesson to retain.

 
LC: What is one book you haven’t read but want to read before you die?
OA: Roots from Alex Haley

 

LC: What kind of writer/poet are you?
OA: I am realistic poet, I write about things happening in the crazy world we live in as they really are (I hope).

 
LC: Please tell us about the published titles that you have?
OA: Panther’s diary, my first collection of poems is a book I wrote in university.The poems presented in this book range from impressions to expressions on issues affecting our lives, Africa and the world at large. Emotions are expressed from the hear-to the heard and truly memorable manner. In this lyrical and passionate collection many readers will
find their own feelings and experiences reflected.

 
LC: Where can we buy the titles from?
OA: Panther’s diary can be bought online at Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Panthers-Diary-Patrick-O-Adholla/dp/1592323111

or blackbokplus
http://shop.blackbookplus.com/searchquick-submit.sc?keywords=1592323111
It is also on sale in some bookstores in USA.

LC: When did you first start writing and were there any incidents in your life that made you want to write? What else?
OA: I started writing hip hop lyrics at the age of 14 then my hip hop metamorphosed into poetry. There is no particular incident that made me want to write, I just wanted to express myself peacefully about issues affecting my life and environment.

 
LC: Who is your favourite writer/poet and for what reason are they your favourite writer/poet?
OA: Ken Saro-Wiwa is my favorite writer; I love him because he chose to fight neo-colonialism and western imperialism using nonviolent resistance techniques such as poetry, prose and peaceful protest. Saro-Wiwa was also able to mobilize the people of the Niger Delta to push for adequate representation and the preservation of their homeland, which was continuing to be destroyed by oil exploitation in the 90’s. Apart from being an activist using his pen as a sword, he was one of most talented Afrikan writer and Sozaboy is a book I really liked.

LC: Do you have a favorite chapter/line/stanza among those you have written? If so, which one. Please write down a few lines from it…..

OA: There are many and it’s hard to choose but here is an extract of one of my favorite poem The Lie

“The F of life was taken out to make the word lie,
Many of us have made their lives a lie.
When life is not what it seems to be your mirror cries;
Dreams are far from reality by many miles.
In front of a screen, the truth is crucified;
Fake celebrities show their success proudly,
Reality is less marketable hence modified,
Their new mansions are few people’s reality.”

LC: What question have you always wanted to be asked as a writer and how would you answer it?
OA: I became a writer by accident so I never thought that I would be asked any questions.

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

Tell me what you think...

