Meet the Vivacious Actress: Damaris Matunda

Written by : Faith Oneya

Damaris Matunda is a Kenyan actress who has appeared in numerous local productions . In “Noose of Gold”, she acted as one of the lead actors for three seasons, and she has made appearances in “Wash and Set” and  M-Net’s “Changes”. She was a supporting actress in the movie “The Semester”. She is a mother of one beautiful daughter. Follow her on Twitter: @matundadidy

LC: Who is Dama?

DM: Dama is talkative, outgoing, friendly, adventurous, loves cooking, I am a mother, I am a risk taker I  like living on the edge, I am very bold I could say, I am quite a character I could say, that’s me.

LC:  What are your hobbies?

DM: I like swimming but I can’t swim ;-), like seriously, I love cooking, I am the best self-made cook, I like poetry, I like watching plays, movies, I  like spending time with my friends, love traveling , I would love to do more traveling in future, I love socializing, acting is work to some but it’s also a hobby because I love doing it, I feel like it’s not work for me, it’s more like a calling, something that I am so passionate about .

LC: Which actors do you admire ?

DM: I admire Ken Ambani because apart from being a good actor, he is very passionate about his talent and having worked with him personally, he is such a humble guy, someone I have grown to respect, he is one of those people who paved way for acting in Kenya and Gilbert Lukalia other local actors I look up to is Peter King, Nini Wacera, Lupita Nyong’o the all have such great talent.

Internationally I like Forest Whitaker because he takes his character so seriously and brings them to life so well, generally I just like him, Anthony Hopkins, Denzel Washington, Julia Roberts they are all  wonderful actors.

LC: Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

DM: I am a big dreamer, so I have written and unwritten dreams for the future, I hope to have accomplished what is planned for the next five years.

LC: What advice would you give to young aspiring actors?

DM: They should get into acting with the right attitude and for the right reasons knowing that it’s a job like any other because it requires a lot of hard work, passion, dedication and integrity and it’s not for the faint hearted.

LC: Do you think the government is doing enough to support the entertainment industry?

DM: It is trying but it is not yet doing enough, we still have a long way to go, especially in terms of support and quality.

LC: Aspirations?

DM: I would like to make a difference in the society to make Kenya a better place regardless of the field and I hope that I am positive influence to my fans.

LC: What motivates you?

DM: What motivates me is my daughter, the fact that she looks up to me makes me feel like an idol so it makes me go that extra mile knowing that I just have to be the best every day, I can’t go back, it only has to get better.

LC: Challenges?

DM: Knowing that you have to wake up to tackle something new, it makes me embrace life and be more energetic and positive and its always rewarding after every challenge that I beat/get through, it just gives me peace, it makes me feel like a superwoman.

Poverty motivates me in the sense that I don’t want to be poor so I am motivated to work hard to get the fine things in life.

LC: Your parting shot?

DM: Watch this space I am coming back with a big bang and I am here to stay!

Author: Faith Oneya

Lover of the written and spoken word.

2 thoughts on “Meet the Vivacious Actress: Damaris Matunda”

Tell me what you think...

