Interviewed by Faith Oneya

Meet Murugi or Googs.Or Gags(As she was called as a child). She made up her mind(and stepped out of a job) to become an author in 2013 and has never looked back. You may have caught her inspiring story in this month’s True Love Kenya magazine. Flavia shared with LC her life’s journey as an author. Read on to find out more!

LC: Tell us more about yourself…

I was born in Embu and raised in Mombasa, Nakuru and Nairobi as an only child to a single mum. I grew up in a home made of 2 mums and us 4 kids i.e. my aunt and her 3 children we all lived together with our grandmother too. I started working at the age of 21 years after losing my mum when I was 19. From 2004 to 2012 I have worked in the media, educational, banking and advertising industry and finally stepped out as an author in 2013. I love hiking travelling and other cultures which have led me to climbing Mt Kenya, Mt Kilimanjaro and visiting Egypt.

LC: If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?

Books

LC: What book(s) are you currently reading?

The power of positive thinking by Norman Vincent Peale.

LC: Who is your favorite author?

Paulo Coelho

LC:  Have you ever fallen in love with a fictional character from a book? Tell us about it.

Not in a book but maybe a TV series and that would be Geoff Stults on October Road. He is everything I would want in a man. Tall, well-built and in this character he falls in love with a full figured woman which is not expected of him considering as a football icon he is expected to date the most skinny women.

LC: What is one book you haven’t read but want to read before you die?

Richard Branson’s Biography.

LC: What kind of writer are you?

I am Inspirational writer or you could also call me the contemporary Christian writer.

LC: Please tell us about the published titles that you have?

Inspiration Simply Simplified was launched on March 17 2013 it is a compilation of my real life experiences simple yes but with life changing lessons. The Rainbow should be out by August 2013 this will be a fictional novel based on my true story basically showing that we can change our circumstances, dispel history and start a new hope in our families.

LC: Where can we buy the titles from?

Currently from me and my publishers Aura Publishers since we are in the final steps with the local bookstores.

LC: When did you first start writing and were there any incidents in your life that made you want to write? What else?

I first started writing in 2003 this started after losing my mum in 2002.

LC: Who is your favorite writer and for what reason are they your favorite writer/poet?

Paulo Coelho, I like his simple language and life changing stories and he always writes a rhetoric novel where he leaves you pondering on what you have read.
LC: Do you have a favorite chapter/line among those you have written? If so, which one. Please write down a few lines from it…..

My favorite chapter would have to be on Probability (What are the chances). This woman was told that the probability of her husband’s recovery was 1% but she said she would hold on to it and 3 months later her husband recovered. I finish the chapter by saying ”If there is 1% probability that you can succeed hold on”

LC: If you could choose one of your characters from any of your books that describe you, who would you choose?

For inspiration Simply Simplified I would pick Suzy because if there is a chance i can succeed i never give up.
In the upcoming book The Rainbow I would pick Favor because despite a bad history she believes she can change the course of her family’s history.

LC: What question have you always wanted to be asked as a writer and how would you answer it?

What would you like to be remembered for? And my answer would be i changed someone’s life in the simplest way just because they believe that if Flavia made it then they can make it.